Food From the Heart & Soul

This video is beautiful. For me, it illustrates the simple pleasure of cooking. But more than that it harkens back to a time when we thought about food, we cared about using simple, fresh ingredients and preparing food for others was an expression of love. Our tools were simple, a knife, a cutting board and, most importantly, our hands. This is the way my grandmother cooked and for a great deal of her life, my mother. This, food from the heart and soul, is truly the most nourishing. I hope you enjoy this video as much as I did.

Classic Pesto from Kinfolk on Vimeo.

8 thoughts on “Food From the Heart & Soul

  1. Loved the video. The greatest compliment my father ever gave my cooking was a day long ago when he said “When Nancy (me) makes a meal, you can taste the love that went into it.” He is 75 and I will never forget that. Thanks for sharing the video, it represents the calm I feel when I prepare a meal.

    • When I read your comment where you speak of the calm you feel when you prepare a meal, I thought of mindfulness as taught by Thich Nhat Hanh. I think preparing meals in this way is like a meditation. What a lovely compliment from your father.

What do you think?

