Kitchen Failures: Adventures in Attempting Recipes from Well Known Blogs

Saturday was our Eating Without Meat of the Lowcountry’s monthly gathering.  As usual, the food was great and plentiful.  I made a Vegan Cheesecake with Chia Seeds that was well received. What most people don’t know, is that I actually made 2 dishes–one that made it to the gathering, and 1 that did not.

I love to cook- always have.  Whereas when I was a child and found most of my recipes in my mother’s cook books or Bon Appetit, now I find a lot of recipes on the internet. And there is no shortage of food blogs and recipe sites so a google search for a particular ingredient will yield thousands of results.

A few months ago, I came across a blog called Green Kitchen Stories.  I like the name, the recipes sound delicious and the photographs are beautiful. I decided to try making her Gluten Free Spinach and Carrot Muffins.  This was a Kitchen Failure.  I followed the recipe faithfully, but my muffins and her muffins do not appear to be related…maybe distant, distant cousins. Was it the recipe? My interpretation of the recipe? A difference in ingredients?…who knows.  If you want a good laugh, here are pictures of one of my muffins:

From the side...see how it didn’t rise?

From the top...

The inside....not exactly light and fluffy.

You’ve seen the beast, now go to her website and check out her beautiful muffins.

Now I cannot attest the the flavor or texture of her muffins, but mine needed salt. The onion and nutmeg flavors were pronounced, but worst of all was the texture! No matter how many “5 more minutes” I added, the texture retained a certain wetness.  They weren’t moist and springy the way you want a muffin to be.  Could that be because they were gluten free? I doubt it.

This is my question to you:  How many of you try recipes from food blogs.  How often do you leave comments about how good something looks?  Have you or would you leave a comment if your attempt did not turn out well?  What was your last “Kitchen Failure”? What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Failures: Adventures in Attempting Recipes from Well Known Blogs

  1. This made me smile! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has kitchen failures! This pic reminds me of the time I tried to make a giant yorkshire pudding from a Delia Smith recipe. The pictures on the recipe page looked amazing – light, crispy, with fluffy insides. I tried the “5 more minutes” thing, which went on for about an extra hour, and it still wouldn’t rise, and resembled half a soggy housebrick. I haven’t tried to make one since. Failures are what makes baking fun though – it’s almost unlike any other form of cooking; once whatever you’re making is in that oven, there’s no fixing it, there’s just hoping for the best, and hoping that “5 more minutes” will do the trick! Love this post! – Kathryn 🙂

    • Kathryn I am glad you liked the post. You are right, the failures do make cooking fun, and somewhat of an adventure. It’s great when after it is all said and done you can learn from your mistakes and know what to do or not do the next time. And then there are cases like this when you just marvel at the mess you made and find a different recipe! To kitchen adventures….

What do you think?

