Three Smoothie Recipes to Brighten Your Morning

Hello Meatless Mavens!

I have a confession, back in the olden days I used to be a Breakfast Barbarian. I knew breakfast was the most important meal of my day, so I thought the bigger the better and the more carbs the merrier. Oh yes, my mornings were incomplete without a couple of eggs, bacon, maybe a pancake (or two), and white toast spread with butter and topped with blackberry jam. In fact, the blackberry jam was probably the closest I got to ‘fruit’ back in those days. But once I became a vegetarian I started actually thinking about the food I was putting into my body. I realized most the food I ate consisted of carbs and more carbs with an occasional vegetable or fruit. Ugh!

So about 5 years ago I replaced my carb-laden breakfasts with fruit smoothies. I will tell you my mornings are much brighter and I feel so much better than when I was eating the SAD breakfast. The greatest concern I had when I switched to smoothies for breakfast was that I’d be starving mid-morning. I was surprised to find that I could make it to 1 pm without feeling hungry. I think consuming such nutrient dense food was the key.

Now there are a lot of pre-made smoothies on the market looking pretty in their plastic packaging. Plus they’re such an easy and convenient way to get your recommended daily fruit intake. Why bother making your own? First and foremost when you make your own you know exactly what’s in it. Second, many of the pre-made smoothies contain added sugar, preservatives and artificial colors, and they can be expensive. Finally, when you make your own you can mix and match a variety of ingredients to suit your individual taste

The recipes below can be made with a blender. Which is a good thing ‘cuz you will retain more of the fruit fiber. I always toss in a handful of spinach for extra vitamins/minerals. The surprising thing about spinach is that it doesn’t really change the flavor. And about two weeks ago, I started adding cilantro…I know that may sound bizarre, but I’m telling you it is Super Yum

So here are three recipes I like. Try one won’t you? Tell us what you think. Or share your favorite smoothie recipe in the comments below.

RED BERRY- DELICIOUS

¼ cup strawberries (hulled and chopped)

¼ cup raspberries

¼ cup blackberries

5 oz apple juice

Place all the fruits and juice into a blender and blend until smooth. Pour into a glass over ice. Easy peasy! Note: if you are using frozen fruit you probably don’t need to pour the mixture over ice.

KIWI KICKER

2 kiwi fruit, peeled and quartered

juice of ½ lime

½ cup strawberries

4 ½ oz strawberry-flavored yogurt or soy yogurt

3 ½ oz non-dairy milk

Place the kiwi, lime juice, strawberries, yogurt and milk in blender and blend until smooth. Serve in a glass over ice.

GRAPE-PINEAPPLE MEAN GREENIE

3 cups spinach (Try it! The spinach doesn’t really alter the flavor.)

1 cup grapes

1 cup pineapple

½ cut water

Place all ingredients into blender and blend until smooth.

5 thoughts on “Three Smoothie Recipes to Brighten Your Morning

  1. About adding spinach to smoothies, I always recommend this to parents of picky eaters who are trying to get more vegetables into their kid’s diets. Sure it turns to smoothie an awesome shade of green, but you can’t taste it in there.

  2. Another big benefit to making your own is that the fruit is fresh & live. Bottled juices & smoothies are pasteurized (cooked) and they’ve lost many if not most of their important enzymes. That berry smoothie looks DELISH!! Thx!

    • Carla, I never thought about the bottled juices and smoothies being pasterurized! Yet one more reason to make your own! The berry smoothie is great, I hope you will try it.

  3. Oh, wow….I want to go make a smoothie right now, but it’s 4am and I’d wake everyone up. I love yogurt in my smoothies, but they all have carageenan in them. Know of any yogurts without this thickening agent? Otherwise, I may just have to start making my own yogurt. Love the blog by the way, you guys are awesome. Keep-up the great work!

What do you think?

